[everest] [K2] [oceans] [poles] [tech] [weather] [statistics] [medical]   

Ministry confirms joint Indo-Nepali Army South Side Everest summits
03:22 a.m. EDT May 22, 2003
Press Release

A historic number of mountaineering expedition teams from different countries in the world have been flocked in Sagarmatha (Mt. Everest) base camp in a bid to scale the highest mountain in the world on the historic occasion of Mt. Everest Golden Jubilee Celebration. The first team to scale Mt. Everest has been Indo Nepal Army Everest Massif Expedition Team.

The Following 4 Nepalese Army, 3 Indian Army & 7 sherpas of Joint Indo- Nepal Army Everest Massif Expedition team have been successful to climb the summit of 8848m.high Mt. Sagarmatha (Mount Everest on 22nd May. 2003 at 06:25 AM-08.50 AM.

Name of the Summiteers

1) Captain Sunil Singh Rathour (1971) Royal Nepalese Army, from Patabhar-3 Bardiya, Nepal.

2) Sub. Hari Bahadur Basnet (1959), Royal Nepalese Army, from Khairenitar-7 Tanahun, Nepal.

3) Sgt. Lok Bahadur Magar (1966) Royal Nepalese Army, from Ysam-4, Okhaldhunga, Nepal.

4) Nayak Dutta Bahadru Budha (1971), Royal Nepalese Army, From Bami-7, Purana Gaun, Gulmi, Nepal.

5) Maj. Saurav Singh Shekhawat (1970),Indian Army, From Chopsani Housing board, Jodhpur, Raj, India.

6) Sub. Chhiring Anchok (1958), Indian Army, From Vil-Ayee Goun, Po-Disket, Distt-Leh Ladakh (J&K), India.

7) Hav. Jagat Singh Negi (1977), Indian Army, From Vil-Pajyana, Po-Silpatta, Distt-Chomoli (UA), India.

8) Mr. Pasang Rinzi Sherpa (25 Yrs), HAS, Jubhing-1, Solukhumbu, Nepal.

9) Mr. Pemba Chhring Sherpa (42 Yrs), HAS, Khumjung-7, Solukhumbu, Nepal.

10) Mr. Pasang Rita Sherpa (25 Yrs), HAS, Namche-7, Solukhumbu, Nepal.

11) Mr. Pemba Rinzi Sherpa (26 Yrs), HAS, Jubhing-1, Solukhumbu, Nepal.

12) Mr. Lhakpa Sherpa, HAS, Khiji Phalate-2, Okhaldhunga, Nepal.

13) Mr. Pemba Gyalzen Sherpa, HAS, Namche-4, Solukhumbu, Nepal.

14) Mr. Nima Sherpa, (24 Yrs), HAS, Jubhing-1, Solukhumbu, Nepal.

The "Joint Indo Nepalese Army Massif Everest Expedition 2003" team was permitted to climb 8848 Meter high Mt. Sagarmatha (Mt. Everest) from South East Ridge for the period of Seventy five days from 21 March 2003 under the leadership of Lt. Col. Surya Sen Thakuri (10 Apr. 1954), Royal Nepal Army, Khadagaun, Daurali, Kaski, Nepal. & Lt. Col. Ashok Abbey (42 Yrs), Indian Army, Defence Colony, New Delhi, India.

It is worth mentioning here that Ms Junko Tabei, the first lady to scale Mt. Everest has already arrived in Nepal to participate in Mt. Everest Golden Jubilee Celebration and Sir Edmund Hillary, the first legendry figure to summit Mt. Everest with the Late Tenzing Norgay Sherpa is scheduled to arrive to Kathmandu tomorrow.

    Top Feature Stories
Latest News

Copyright ExplorersWeb Inc.  All rights reserved
[about - contact - press]